Photo by Aliyah Jamous on Unsplash

It’s My Cancer and I’ll Cry if I Want To

Julie Nyhus MSN, FNP-BC, RN 💜

--

Cancer is not the best thing that ever happened to me.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love and admire all of my fellow “you’ve got cancer” humans. Hands down. No doubt.

We share a cancer bond that no one else on earth can boast. We’ve each grown our own massive networks of fear neurons that mirror each other from across the globe. It’s kind of like we all went to the same summer camp in 5th grade and we know the inside jokes, the code words, and the secret pranks.

But come on. You guys have to let me experience this thing my own way.

I mean I let you flaunt your “cancer survivor” flags on every flagpole. I let you share your “cancer is the best thing that ever happened to me” stories all over the Internet. I let you call cancer a blessing while you smile through the horror.

But gosh darn it. (Foot stamp) It’s my cancer and I’ll cry if I want to.

I’m not saying I didn’t learn any life lessons but it is by no means a blessing full of life-altering meaning. If it’s the best thing that ever happened to you, then own it, I’ll be the first to pat you on the back and clap for your story. But know that there isn’t a single life lesson I couldn’t have learned from some other teacher.

--

--

Julie Nyhus MSN, FNP-BC, RN 💜

Nurse practitioner, health/medical writer, wife, momma, amazing badass rocking 12 years without evidence of cancer! www.nprush.com Twitter @joolzfnp